Choose Visible Dashboards
Currently, within a given Company, there may be tens or even hundreds of Dashboards available to view.
Because of this, we have implemented a mechanism to filter our what dashboards each given user can see.
In essence, this is a simple user interface, where one can choose which dashboards to see and in what order.
This is triggered by simply pressing the Filter icon on the top of the page:
The main layout where one can set which Dashboards to see, as well we order in which to see these Dashboards, looks like this:
This provides the following functionalities.
Located at the top of the filtering popup, this element allows searching for partial or full match of a string within the names of all dashboards (private and company).
Once you enter one or more characters in the search box, the relevant Dashboards, resulting from either a partial or a full match, are rendered below, as the image above demonstrates.
You can remove this search filter by either deleting the search text, or pressing the "x" button on the right of the search, which would cancel out the search and render all applicable names in the list.
My Dashboards section
This is the first section in the popup and it contains all Dashboards, that are either created by the current user, or are Company Dashboards, previously selected from the Company Dashboards list.
Checking the checkbox next to the name of a Dashboard will make it visible to the current user. If this is a Company Dashboard, it will also be added to My Dashboards list, since it will be part of the list of Dashboards that a user can see.
Unchecking it will remove the Dashboard from the Dashboards tab that the user can see. If the unselected Dashboard had been added to the My Dashboards list via a selection from a Company Dashboard list, once unselected, it will be removed from the list. If it is a Private Dashboard that was deselected, it would still be part of the My Dashboards list, since it is an item, created by the current user.
Company Dashboards section
This section contains all Dashboards, which are publicly available within a Company. Based on this, one can select one or more Dashboards to add to the ones that you see.
Checking the checkbox next to the name of a Dashboard will make it visible to the current user. Since this is a Company Dashboard, it will also be added to My Dashboards list, since it will be part of the list of Dashboards that a user can see.
Unchecking it will remove the Dashboard from the Dashboards tab that the user can see. Additionally, it will remove the Dashboard entry from My Dashboards section, and preserve it only in the Company Dashboards section.
My Favorites section
This section if for a list of Dashboards - Private and Company, which have been made favourite, by pressing the Star symbol.
To remove a Dashboard from the favorites list, simply click on the Star symbol again. Both selecting and deselecting an item to be part of the list works the same way.
The main goal of this section is to offer a way to create a custom list of items to make visible or not periodically, but in any case be easily accessible/available. For example, if there are Dashboards that are toggled on/off from a much longer Company Dashboard list - the Favorites section is a very good way to make these accessible to show/hide much faster, rather than scrolling way down each time to show it.
Dashboards can be reordered to determine the way that they are shown in the Tab of Dashboards.
This can be done by opening the Filter icon and manipulating the actual order in the "My Dashboards" section.
The actual reordering is done by simply clicking on a dashboard name and reordering it to the exact position where you want it to be:
This will result in the Dashboards being shown in this precise order, in the actual Dashboards Tab:
Selecting and Deselecting Dashboards is very straightforward.
Next to each Dashboard name, in the Access filter popup on the page, there is a checkbox:
Checking this checkbox will make the dashboard visible in the Dashboard tab list, as well as part of the "My Dashboards" section, in case it is not already there.
Unchecking it will no longer show this Dashboard in the Tab list.
Access and Edit Rights
There are three distinct types of Dashboards, based on the access level and ability to edit them:
- Private - these dashboards are private for a specific user and are neither accessible, nor editable by anybody else. They are denoted by a lock symbol, following the name of the Dashboard:
- Public, Editable - these dashboards are created by the current user and are hence editable, but are also public. They are denoted by a group editable icon. Please note, that they are editable only by the current user and not anybody else in the company:
- Public, Non-editable - these dashboards have been created by someone else in the same company and are not editable by the current user. They can be viewed by everybody else. They are denoted by a simple group icon, next to the dashboard name:
Each Dashboard can be favorited, which immediately puts it in the "My Favorites" section. This is done via the star icon, next to a Dashboard name.
The main use is for Dashboards that are harder to navigate to (for example are part of a very long scrolling list), but are toggled on/off frequently. By being part of the "My Favorites" section, it is much easier to toggle on/off, without having to locate them again.
The section and functionality looks like this:
Apply and Cancel changes
Once you have configured one or more changes in the visibility of Dashboards and exact ordering, you can either persist the changes, by pressing the "Apply Changes" button, or cancel them, by clicking "Cancel".
Please note, that after applying any changes on the visibility of the dashboards, you also need to click on the save icon on the layout, located on the top-right, so that all changes are properlt persisted.